Liebster Award – Thank you!

Liebster Award

Creative Saturdays has nominated me for the Liebster Award! Hurray πŸ™‚ and Thank you, I feel very honored. For those who are now wondering about the content of this sentence, let me explain.

First of all, Creative Saturdays is a blog about the creative work of a busy young Londoner with lovely sewing projects, many of them are perfect little presents (some of them rather huge presents πŸ™‚ )

Getting the Liebster Award does not mean that I will soon be going to an Award winning ceremony on the red carpet (although I am currently designing a dress for these kind of events in my Fashion course πŸ™‚ ), it is more like a chain letter in blogging, except that there is no chocolate involved (or money). It is a way of connecting bloggers and to promote small blogs (as you can only nominate blogs under a certain number of followers)

I don’t know who started it, but Liebster is a German word meaning dearest, favourite or sweetheart. There seem to be different rules about it (I found some rules here) but basically, when you get nominated and choose to continue the chain, you will have to thank the person who nominated you (naturally) and link back to them, you have to answer their questions, you will have to nominate other blogs which you really enjoy reading and you think they deserve an award (it is also a way of helping them promote their blog) and give them questions to answer.

So, here are the questions I got and the answers.

1. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

Hmm, not needing to sleep maybe? I already often don’t get as much sleep as I would want but it results in me being forgetful or grumpy so I still seem to need to sleep. We could say, I am halfway there πŸ™‚

2. What was the first thing you made?

I am not sure if it was really the first thing I made but I do remember a knitted skirt for my doll in primary school. I liked the knitting so much that the skirt grew bigger and bigger and bigger πŸ™‚

Sewingwise I am not sure about the first item, but there was another skirt, this time for me, made in secondary. This time, not so fond memories.

3. If you could be granted three wishes, what would you wish for?

Are we talking about big or small things? Because I would really like to have a world without fanatics, trying to force others to do it their way.

In smaller terms, space for all my craft stuff or at least a tidy up fairy.

And maybe that chocolate is healthy if eaten excessively.

4. How do you find inspiration for projects?

Often when I work on something, it might inspire me to do something else. Otherwise the internet, ravelry and other blogs.

5. What are your pet hates?

Dirty dishes next to the sink rather than inside (unsolvable controversy in this house).

6. If you could take up any new hobby what would it be?

Dancing.

7. What’s the story behind your blog name?

Oursonne means little bear in French as does my name in Latin (not a single vocabulary check in 6 years without that question), Atelier is the workspace that I would like to have.

8. Do you have any pets?

No. No. No. It is better for all of us. Them and me.

9. What has been your favourite blogging moment?

Getting the first follower I guess.

10 Which celebrity would be top of your guest list for a dinner party?

I am not a celebrity person at all. But I guess, right now it would be Michelle Williams as, for my Fashion course, I chose her (after hours and hours of celebrity research) to make a dress (real) for her to wear (fictional). So I could question her directly about her personal taste.

So that was it about me.

I would like to nominate a few blogs as well:

The twisted yarn

According to her site, she has more than 1000 followers, according to my WordPress Reader it is less, so I will believe the latter as it is really my favourite blog to read, so it is really my “Liebster” blog.

We seem to have a lot in common, maybe she is my twin but in a much better version. Lots of crazy projects (sizewise especially, I will never forget her afghan), and she has a very entertaining style to write.

Polka Dots & Sparkles

Slightly different from the usual knitting blogs, with a little bit of music thrown in, from a pink haired Dr Who loving Aussie.

Sweaty Knitter

Very useful when you do not want to do your own yarn related research πŸ™‚ She has done it already. A more scientific approach to knitting from a former college professor.

Β Stitch and Purl

A lovely blog about lovely things of a very talented woman who also sells her things on Etsy, for example the cutest gnomes ever.

Lucy Ann & Luna Craft

A blog about all sorts of crafts written by a physics teacher and a dachshund (or does she just frequently sneak into pictures πŸ˜‰ )

My tangled yarn knitting adventures

Lots of knitting projects, very busy lady but lately she seems a bit distracted πŸ™‚ For a very good reason as she is now a proud mummy.

I would have a few other blogs to recommend except that they do not qualify for the Liebster Award as they have too many followers already. But as we are talking about good blogs, I would like to mention them here too:

Hamburger Liebe:

It is mainly in German but still worth to be checked out. Good sewing tutorials, gorgeous fabrics (she is mainly a fabric designer) – if I was working in a shop with those fabrics, I would spend more than I could possibly earn.

Kleine Kleinigkeiten

In German again, but lots of little DIY projects, most of them simple and easy to make but with a great result. Very inspiring.

pattydoo

I have mentioned her before, designer based in Berlin, her blog is mainly about tutorials (with videos).

Cherry Heart

If you want to crochet, that is the place to go (or rather her crochet corner). It is not only incredibly helpful and seems to be a complete crochet encyclopedia but it is also incredibly pretty to look at. She has clearly a great sense of colour.

 

But back to the Liebster Award:

The questions for my nominees would be:

1. When and why did you start your blog?

2. What is your favourite material to work with?

3. What is your favourite colour?

4. What is the tiniest thing you have ever made and what the biggest?

5. What is your favourite season?

6. With the Christmas season approaching: Is it likely to be a white Christmas where you live? Do you like or rather hate snow?

7. Coffee or tea?

8. What is your favourite meal of the day?

9. Where do you like to spend your holidays?

10. If you had a time machine, where would you travel?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment